It’s officially Cheugy season.

So, what is ‘cheugy’? Urban Dictionary defines ‘cheugy’ as The opposite of trendy. Stylish in middle school and high school but no longer in style.

So what makes this season cheugy? It’s October, you know what that means. It’s officially Pumpkin Spice season, the only drink that has remained relevant every year in this past decade.

We know that trends in fashion are recycled, but what makes this year more ‘cheugy’ than the rest? We’ve seen the return of 70s,80s,90s, and more recently 2000s fashion, but this year I cannot help but notice the revival of 2010s fashion (which in my opinion is possibly the worst decade of fashion to bring back).

Here are some of the recent trends :

  • Ugg Boots – Ugg boots are the chosen shoes of the season, however, this time Ugg is back in style with their mini platform Ugg boots
  • Knit Scarves – The classic chunky knit scarf, often the bigger the better, is making a comeback this year, with a new scarf trending every month on TikTok. But will we see the Pinterest favourite staple  Infinity Scarf come back in style?
  • Skinny scarves – In contrast to the chunky knit scarves, the dreaded skinny scarves are making their return. As seen on Dua Lipa at Copenhagen Fashion Week this summer, people are wearing skinny scarves this autumn not necessarily to keep warm, but as a statement piece.
  • Ballet flats – Ah, ballet flats, the absolute worst shoe for comfort. Influencers on TikTok have stated that ballet flats are now back in fashion. While I personally believe ballet flats should not come back from the dead, I think we can all admit that Matilda Djerf does present them well, although I’m pretty sure she can pull almost anything off.
  • Cowboy Boots – Whilst boots may not be back in the same way they were in the 2010s, they’re definitely back. This is a recent trend that I can get behind, and I can admit that I have recently bought a pair of white cowboy boots. As the return of Gossip Girl fashion comes back, everyone is searching for that classic 2010s Serena van der Woodsen vibe.

So, as much as the ‘cheugy’ style is regarded as uncool. I for one love being cheugy, Autumn is my absolute favourite time of year, and I must admit, part of that is the fact that I can go to Starbucks in an oversized jumper, leggings and ugg boots (and hey maybe I’ll throw in a scarf this year) to purchase a famous PSL. So no, I’m embracing the millennial style, at least just once a year, to live out my full ‘Christian Girl Autumn‘.

Courtesy of Caitlin Covington / Via Instagram: @cmcoving

Leave a comment

Comments (

0

)

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started